Skip to content
May 8, 2013 / dlitgroup

Weekly Reports – May 8

Notable Highlights

Announcing…. Cheryl Kautz is a Bb Exemplary Course Award Winner… again!  She received a “2013 Blackboard Catalyst Award” for her CO152 Photoshop
 submission.  Not only was her course chosen to receive an Exemplary Course Award but it was also a Directors Choice for Courses with Distinction.

DLIT Staff Reports

This area includes accomplishments, milestones, or comments from DLIT staff.

  • Eric Kunnen
    • Volunteered at Commencement
    • Updated Bb Help Tab
    • Held a Pearson Meeting with Meegan W, Lynnae S, 3 Reps for Discussing MyStudentSuccess Lab integration options for Blackboard.
    • Participated in the Enterprise Analyst Interview Committee.
    • Planning for Blackboard SP12 upgrade.
    • Co-facilitated Bb Basics for OHCC with Meegan W.
    • Attended Employee Appreciation Event – Got my 20 year recognition!
    • Prepared Higgins Lake Presentation on Early Alert.
    • Created Template Course on Bb for Pearson to integrate and build content for the Direct Model.
    • Provided Jeremy with 2 additional sessions (16 total) targeted for discussion board and assessments for the Faculty Professional Development Catalog.
    • Presented to Cabinet my Stretch Assignment Project.
    • Facilitated board meeting as President for ETOM.
    • Printed online student brochures arrived.  These were distributed to Lynnae and Lori for inclusion in orientation packs.
    • PDD was held.
    • Meeting with Coach for the GRCC Leadership Institute.
  • Meegan Willi
    • Enjoying vacation!
  • Jose Mora
    • Helped faculty and staff with:
      • filtering out extra courses in My Courses plus. We added the My courses module and put it on the home page
      • download google docs document
      • look up textbook information that was at the bookstore
      • errors with total column showing incorrect information
    • Helped students with:
      • Enrolling into MCCVLC courses
      • honors contracts
      • force enroll into full online class due to a college error
    • Processed invoices
    • Processed reimbursements
    • Met with other staff to work on upcoming Hispanic recruitment event
    • Attended employee appreciation event
    • Answered incoming phone calls
    • Answered incoming email
      • I have a question. I was wondering, I have gone through the online program and it still shows one of the assignments as pending and it also shows as if I still need to complete it. Am I all set for my class in the summer or is there something else I need to do or something I am missing?
      • I am from Egypt teaching English language for 42 years nonstop and now I found out that gender studies should be an integrated part in my job..could you please tell me more about your online postgraduate programs? I am 64 years old and wish to renew my contract to get my salary to buy my medicine and provide for my family..I must show my boss that I have started the course. I got BA in English language and literature in 1972(Cairo),in 1998 I got the postgraduate degree(CAIRO),in 2006 I got another postgraduate diploma (UK),in 2012 I got another postgraduate certificate (USA)..still working ,writing and teaching,I wish you answer me soon.
      • I would like to know how the course will work. I expect that the syllabus will be clear and that everything will be graded fairly.
      • I should be enrolled in two classes, one online (Geography 131) and one at GRCC (Shakespeare). These are not showing up on blackboard. How can I access them?
      • I would like to know what text books need to be ordered for AT 105. I cannot find any information about what is required for this course.
      • which textbook should I buy?
      • I am supposed to start a hybrid class on May 13th, and the course (HS249) is not showing up in my blackboard courses. I was just wondering if that will add in automatically, or if there is some way that I need to add it to my courses.
      • For this online class when you instructed that we need to login daily for attendance, do you mean everyday of the school week-Monday Through Friday?
      • Is the orientation syllabus the class syllabus or is there a separate syllabus for the class? If so I was wondering if I could get one emailed to me before the class starts.
      • I have noticed on my Blackboard shell that my first class that starts on May 13th is not up on the shell yet. I was just wondering when it would be up and ready, since my class is online. Please let me know!
      • What P.E. classes will be offered on campus during the summer semesters (and are there any openings in the online Yoga class perchance)?

      • I am currently enrolled in two online courses MA 215 and ANT 204; however, my blackboard has only MA 215 listed. I was just wondering why that is? The online center says that I am still enrolled in both classes and I have also paid for both of the courses. I have not received an email from either for the professors regarding courses either and with an online course I assume that blackboard is required.
      • I am currently registered and have paid for a class, but I am unsure what my login information to Blackboard is. Sorry for any inconvenience I may cause.

      • How can I contact my professor for a class on GRCC’s campus? I have a final the first day of class and want to communicate that.
      • I am looking at these classes. WE 125,

        WE 126, WE 113,

        WE 141, WE 155,

        WE 152. A

        re they offered during the summer? How can I tell which courses are offered during the summer?

      • I’ve updated my online Blackboard personal profile, on the “courses tabs” it does not have my course registered and

        available for access. If you could please fix this, or at least direct me on what I need to do

        I would greatly appreciate that.

      • Thank you for the email. I have logged into blackboard and do not see any assignments or pre-reading. Of course, the start date is next Monday but I was wondering if I may have missed any assignments. Also, will there be a text book for this course and if so, where would I find that info.

This area includes accomplishments, milestones, or comments from EOL faculty in the department.

  • EOL faculty are in transition for the new calendar year.
Leave a Reply

